什么是 Miracast™?

Miracast 101: 使用 Miracast 需要知道的所有信息

 

Miracast 技术可增强商务和教育协作。

 

对于想要将一个屏幕上的内容(如演示、视频、app 和照片)共享到另一个屏幕或投影仪的用户来说,Miracast 是一项重要的技术。简单说,此技术通过无线方式将一个设备屏幕上的内容镜像到另一个屏幕上以方便观看和访问。

Miracast 在商务、教育和娱乐领域的长期应用就是很好的证明,因此您完全可以信任它。首要的是,这是当今许多现代化设备的原生内建功能,使用户无需再使用线缆和适配器。

而且它不只是一项屏幕镜像技术。其功能还远不止这些。教师可以利用它来提升学生的理解和参与。销售人员、业务经理和许多其它人士每天都在利用这项技术来更高效地开展工作。那么无论您是在办公室、教室还是家中使用这项技术,下面都是需要了解的 Miracast 信息—这是什么,可以做什么,以及如何使用。

 

什么是 Miracast?

Miracast 是一项技术标准 – 不是一个设备 – 通过它可以实现无线显示连接。此标准由 Wi-Fi 联盟批准,是世界各地无数现代化设备中集成的功能。此技术不是绑定于特定品牌的硬件,可以用于许多制造商的各种设备。换言之,具有Miracast 功能的设备可以配合其它支持 Miracast 的接收器一起工作。

演讲者可以使用 Miracast 在会议室放映幻灯片,将它们标记出来,或让其他人也这样做。通过共享视像、经由个人设备接收反馈或鼓励学生参与,教师可以使用它增强学生理解。用户可以在家里从其移动设备上观看 Miracast 电视和电影,Miracast 可以让您更简便的不用连接 HDMI 线而使用屏幕镜像。

Miracast 的工作原理

Miracast 不依靠现有网络,不需要无线接入点(AP)。这对于商务和教育环境来说是一个巨大优势,因为其不会占用大量视频流量,可以节省宝贵带宽。

基于 Wi-Fi Direct 标准,Miracast 在设备和显示器之间建立直接连接(点对点),基本上就形成了自己的 Wi-Fi 网络。存储或传输内容的设备(如平板电脑)直接与 Miracast 接收器(如 ScreenBeam)通讯。Miracast 进行无线连接并将所有内容从一个屏幕镜像到另一个。

您如何知道设备是否有 Miracast 功能?

大多数人可能都不知道他们拥有的设备具有 Miracast 功能。大多数新一代 Windows 和 Android 设备都支持 Miracast。其中包括平板电脑、智能手机、PC 和笔记本电脑。Microsoft 在装有 Windows 10 的设备上納入了 Miracast。Miracast Android 设备包含 4.2 及更高版本的系统。

旧版 Windows 设备使用适配器或下载软件后也可以使用 Miracast。有些流媒體设备,如 Roku 和 Amazon Fire TV,也使用 Miracast 无线显示技术

现在,对于显示器所要做的全部事情就是“投射”。这实质就是去“镜像”您的视频、图像或演示到目标屏幕。此屏幕需要一个可用的 HDMI 端口。其中可采用高清电视、计算机显示器、投影机,甚至触摸屏。

要使用 Miracast,您首先需要的是一个 Miracast 功能的设备。

Miracast 适配器和接收器

 

如果您没有 Miracast 功能的移动设备,则可以使用能将此技术扩展到其它设备的适配器。例如,Windows 7 和 Windows 8 中的 Miracast 可以配合 ScreenBeam USB 无线显示发射器二代使用。要对电视或投影机启用 Miracast,只需连接 Miracast 接收器(如 ScreenBeam 960)到显示器的 HDMI 端口。只要将 HDMI 线插接到电视上的 HDMI 端口,将另一端插接到 ScreenBeam 接收器。ScreenBeam 960 接收器也可以与 USB 触摸显示器无缝连接。

如何使用 Miracast

Miracast 技术使用非常方便。如果使用的是 Windows 10 设备,只需按 Windows 键 + K 打开无线镜像。之后,选择您的接收器。如果使用的是 Windows 8.1,按 Windows 键 + C 打开常用工具栏。

对于 Android 设备,转到“Settings”(设置)并选择“Display”(显示)。之后,触摸“Wireless display”(无线显示)。这能使您的设备查找 ScreenBeam 接收器或 Miracast 适配器。如果移动设备本身不支持 Miracast,您可以使用适配器,如 ScreenBeam 的 USB 无线显示发射器二代和一些镜像软件。 一旦知道如何访问设备的 Miracast 设置后,使用 Miracast 就非常简单。对于有些设备,Miracast app 甚至可以进一步简化屏幕镜像。

如果在某些无线环境下使用 miracast 遇到一些问题,我们已提供一个资源,可以让您查找根本原因以及解决这些问题的最佳作法:如何配置 Miracast 无线显示系统以实现最大性能。

Miracast 的优点和缺点

Miracast 的其中一个最大优势就是可以创建自己的网络。使用时可以不借助现有 Wi-Fi 网络和路由器,从而做到自足和便携。可以在学校、办公室和家里使用它,且无需任何基础设施。这使 Miracast 不仅速度快,使用也非常方便。

另外还有其它一些优点。由于已经内置于大多数 Windows 和 Android 设备中,因此可以很方便地”携带自己的设备(BYOD)”使用。即使在协作情况下,商务专业人士也可以选择最适合他们的设备。在许多情况下需要多个设备能够访问主屏幕, Miracast 也可进行处理。

Miracast 诸多优点之一就是其能力。它可以传输高清信号,包括 4K,可以处理 5.1 环绕声。它也可以处理受保护内容,如 Blu-ray;Miracast 的安全功能允许此类内容,而其它技术不允许。

Miracast最大的缺点可能是不支持 Apple。由于 Apple 拥有自己的专属屏幕镜像标准,Miracast 当前不能用于 iPhones、iPads、Mac 或其它 Apple 产品。但是,类似于 ScreenBeam 的解决方案现在提供小的 app 以設法在许多这些产品中实现无线显示。

Miracast 与 Chromecast?

 

Chromecast 是另一个可以不用 HDMI 线來无线配对移动设备和电视的工具。由于其能够通过移动设备将多媒体内容(HBO、YouTube、Netflix等 )无线传输到高清电视,因此深受用户欢迎。但是,与 Miracast 不同,Chromecast 不是屏幕镜像工具。它是一个将电视插接到 HDMI 端口并使用 Wi-Fi 上网的适配器。

Chromecast 是从订阅服务中放送内容的一个非常棒的工具,但对于企业部署则功能非常有限。例如,Chromecast 不支持 WPA2,但基于安全原因学校和企业广泛使用 WPA2 来验证设备。另外,Chromecast 不提供接收器远程管理功能,而当 IT 部门负责管理整个校园或会议室中成百上千的设备时,则将完全束手无策。

Chromecast 对于无线流媒体来说可能是很好的选项,而对于办公室环境,Miracast 的优点是 Windows 已將其原生内建,不需要 Wi-Fi,即无需借助公司的无线网络。

为什么使用 Miracast?

 

Miracast 让今天的现代化设备能够轻松无线连接到显示器和投影仪。Miracast 的无线显示技术通过避免各种线缆连接,让用户无需再费心劳神地寻找正确的线缆、接口或输入。教师和演示者现在可以从其主显示器上解放出来,四处走动,最终营造一个高度协作的环境。工作中不会再有糟糕的视频演示和会议延误,随之而来的是无延迟、更快的数据流传送。

ScreenBeam 接收器可以更加便捷地将 PC、平板电脑和移动设备连接到教室和会议室显示器。作为 Microsoft 的无线显示联合研发合作伙伴,ScreenBeam 技术已原生集成在 Windows 10 和 8.1 设备中。通过专业功能,如触摸屏支持、远程接收器管理、安全保护以及不需要 Wi-Fi 即可快速传送数据流,具有 Miracast 功能的 ScreenBeam 接收器是您的学校或公司的最佳选择。

What is Miracast?

Miracast 101: Everything you need to know to use it.

Miracast screen mirroring technology boosts collaboration in business and education.

Miracast is an essential technology for anyone who wants to share content on one screen to another screen or a projector, such as presentations, videos, apps and photos. Simply, it wirelessly mirrors what’s on the screen of one device onto another screen for easy viewing and access.

Proven useful in business, education, and entertainment, Miracast has been around for a very long time, so you can trust it. Best of all it’s a native feature in many of today’s modern devices, and eliminates the need for cables and adapters.

And it’s not just a screen-mirroring technology. It can be so much more. Teachers use it to improve student comprehension and engagement. Salespeople, business managers, and many others use this technology every day to do their jobs more effectively. So whether you’re using this technology in the office, classroom or home, here’s everything you need to know about Miracast—What it is, what it does, and how you can use it.

What is Miracast?

Miracast is a technology standard – not a device – that allows wireless display connectivity. The standard has been ratified by the Wi-Fi Alliance and is native in millions of modern devices worldwide. It’s not tied to any particular brand of hardware and can be used with a variety of devices from many manufacturers. In other words, Miracast enabled devices will work with other Miracast receivers.

A speaker can use Miracast to show slides in a boardroom, marking them up or allowing others to do so. A teacher can use it to enhance student understanding by sharing visuals, receiving feedback via personal devices, or encouraging student participation. A family can view Miracast TV and movies at home from their mobile devices. Wherever there’s a use for screen mirroring, Miracast makes it easier by removing the need for an HDMI cable.

What is Miracast - Wireless Display Illustration

How Miracast Works

Miracast does not rely on an existing network, and it doesn’t need a wireless access point. This is a huge advantage for commercial and educational environments because it allows heavy video traffic to be moved off the network, saving valuable bandwidth.

Based on the Wi-Fi Direct standard, Miracast sets up a direct connection between a device and the display (peer-to-peer), basically creating its own Wi-Fi network. The device that stores or streams the content (for example, a tablet) communicates directly with the Miracast receiver (for example, a ScreenBeam). Miracast connects wirelessly and mirrors everything from one screen to another.

How Do You Know if You Have a Miracast enabled Device?

Most people are probably not aware that they already have a Miracast enabled device. Most modern Windows and Android devices are already Miracast friendly. This includes tablets, smartphones, PCs, and laptops. Microsoft includes Miracast on devices that come with Windows 10. Miracast Android devices include those that are 4.2 and later.

Older Windows devices can use an adapter or download software to use Miracast as well. Some streaming devices, such as Roku and Amazon Fire TV, also use Miracast wireless display technology.

Now, all you need is a display to “beam” to. This is essentially the “mirror” in screen mirroring, the destination screen for your video, image or presentation. This screen requires an available HDMI port. It can be a high-definition television, a computer monitor, a projector, or even a touchscreen.

What is Miracast - Windows Miracast Devices

To use Miracast, the first thing you’ll need is a Miracast-enabled device.

Miracast Adapters and Receivers

If you don’t have a Miracast enabled mobile device, there are adapters that expand the technology to other devices. For example, Miracast with Windows 7 and Windows 8 is possible with the ScreenBeam USB Transmitter 2. To enable a TV or projector with Miracast, simply connect a Miracast receiver, like the ScreenBeam 960 to your display’s HDMI port. Just plug an HDMI cable to the HDMI port on the TV and the other end to the ScreenBeam receiver. ScreenBeam 960 receivers also connect seamlessly with USB touch displays.

How to Use Miracast

Miracast technology is easy to use. If you have a Windows 10 device, simply press the Windows key + K to turn on wireless mirroring. Next, choose your receiver. If you’re using Windows 8.1, press the Windows key + C to open the charms bar.

For Android devices, go to “Settings” and choose “Display.” Next, touch “Wireless display.” This will enable your device to look for your ScreenBeam receiver, or Miracast dongle. If your mobile device doesn’t natively support Miracast, you can use an adapter, such as ScreenBeam’s USB Transmitter 2, and some mirroring software. Once you know how to access your device’s Miracast settings, using Miracast is quite simple. For some devices, a Miracast app can simplify screen mirroring even further.

If ever you experience some issues using miracast in certain wireless environments, we’ve created a resource that allows you to explore the root causes and best practices for troubleshooting these issues: How to configure Miracast wireless display implementations for maximum performance

Benefits and Drawbacks of Miracast

One of Miracast’s biggest benefits is that it creates its own network. It can be used without an existing Wi-Fi network and without a router, making it self-sufficient and portable. It can be used in schools, offices, and homes without straining the infrastructure. This makes Miracast not only fast, but very easy to use.

There are several other benefits as well. Since it’s already built-in to most Windows and Android devices, it’s easy to use in bring-your-own-device situations. Business professionals can choose the devices that work best for them, even in collaborative situations. In many situations, it’s necessary for multiple devices to be able to access the main screen. Miracast can handle it.

Another of Miracast’s many benefits is its power. It can transmit high-definition signals, including 4K, and it can handle 5.1 surround sound. It can also take on protected content such as Blu-ray; Miracast’s security features allow such content where other technologies do not.

Likely the biggest drawback is Apple’s lack of support for Miracast. Because Apple has its own proprietary screen-mirroring standard, Miracast currently cannot be used with iPhones, iPads, Macs, or any other Apple product. However, solutions like ScreenBeam are now providing lightweight apps to enable wireless display with many of these products.

What is Miracast - Google Chrome Logo
What is Miracast - Google Chrome Logo"

Miracast vs. Chromecast?

Chromecast is another tool that cuts the HDMI cord to wirelessly couple mobile and television. It’s popular with consumers for its ability to wirelessly stream multimedia content (HBO, YouTube, Netflix, etc.) to a HDTV through a mobile device. However, unlike Miracast, Chromecast is not a screen mirroring tool. It is a dongle that plugs into your TV’s HDMI port, and uses Wi-Fi to access the Internet.

Chromecast is a great tool for casting content from a subscription service, but is very limited for enterprise deployments. For example, Chromecast does not support WPA2 which is widely used by schools and businesses to authenticate devices for security reasons. Also, Chromecast doesn’t provide remote management of receivers, which creates an impossible situation when IT is responsible for managing hundreds of devices across campuses or meeting rooms.
While Chromecast may be a great option for wireless streaming, for an office environment, the advantages of Miracast is native in Windows, and no Wi-Fi is required which means there would be no hit on the company’s wireless network.

Why Use Miracast?

Miracast empowers today’s modern devices to easily connect wirelessly to displays and projectors. Miracast’s wireless display technology spares users the hassle of hunting down the right cable, connector, or input by eliminating the need for cords and cables. Teachers and presenters can now be untethered from their main display, providing freedom of movement, and ultimately creating a highly collaborative environment. Say goodbye to awful video presentations and meeting delays at work, and say hello to faster flowing data with no latency.

ScreenBeam receivers streamlines the process of connecting PCs, tablets, and mobile devices to classroom and conference room displays. As Microsoft’s co-engineering partner for wireless display, ScreenBeam technology is native in Windows 10 and 8.1 devices. With professional functionalities such as touchscreen support, remote receiver management, security protections, and no Wi-Fi requirement making for faster data flow, ScreenBeam Miracast-enabled receivers are the best choice for your school or business.

Connect With ScreenBeam

Share This